Obtaining ISCC Certification, SSMS is Ready to Get Into the Global Market


As one of part the business units of PT Sawit Sumbermas Sarana Tbk. (SSMS Group), PT Mitra Mendawai Sejati (MMS) through Suayap Mill received an International Sustainibility & Carbon Certification (ISCC) certificate on June 25, 2019.


This certification is given to palm oil mills (Suayap Mill) and two estates (Suayap and Umpang Estate) as raw material suppliers in Suayap and Umpang Villages, in West Kotawaringin Regency.


As a producer of Crude Palm Oil (CPO) that has met ISCC certification standards, now PT Mitra Mendawai Sejati can provide CPO with the EU Renewable Energy Directive which focuses on reducing CO2 gas emissions.


The acquisition of ISCC certification is a manifestation of PT MMS's commitment to achieve world-class standard companies in providing environmentally friendly products. The concern of SSMS on reducing GHG emissions is clear from how innovation and hard work change methane gas which is harmful to the environment.


Through the Methane Capture facility, methane gas which is biogas is produced from the reform of organic compounds in POME (palm oil liquid waste) and then converted into energy. According to the EU Renewable Energy Directive, it is stipulated that the comparative emission standard for the processing unit is 94 gCO2 / MJ.


From the calculated plant operational data, the value of carbon gas emissions from CPO processing activities at Suayap Mill during 2018 is 11.80 gCO2 / MJ. With this value, it can be calculated that Suayap Mill has made GHG savings of 90%.


This is part of the contribution of the SSMS to reducing GHG emissions. ISCC is an international standard certification system to prove sustainability, traceability and savings from the effects of greenhouse gases (GHG) in the production of biomass (renewable energy).


The ISCC PT MMS certification is carried out by a world-leading quality management certification body based in Germany. This certificate is valid for one year, ie from June 25, 2019 to June 24, 2020.